Facts About The Adelaide Cup
The Adelaide Cup is a Group 2 thoroughbred horse-race run over 3200m. It is a handicapped race held at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide Australia and in 2007 the cup was changed from a Group 1 race to a Group 2 race.

The Adelaide Cup is held yearly, on the second Monday of every March since 2006. Prior to 2006 it was held every May. The Adelaide Cup is cause for a state holiday, so mark your calendar for the 2010 race on the 8th of March.

The Adelaide Cup is South Australia’s most prestigious horse race and has been in the spotlight ever since the filly “Falcon” led the first field home in 1864. And since 2000, the Morphettville Racecourse has played host to the race. As a holiday, the race itself is the culmination of the Adelaide Cup Carnival, which mixes and champagne socializing with top class racing.

Recent Winners of the Adelaide Cup
For the past fifteen years, there has not been a repeat winner at the Adelaide Cup. But, in 1993 and 1994 Our Pompeii pulled off victories, becoming the most recent repeat winner since Lord Reims won three in a row from 1987-89. Check out below to see the most recent Adelaide Cup winners in order to help you in wagering bets on this year’s Adelaide Cup.

  • 2018 – Fanatic[9]
  • 2017 – Annus Mirabilis[10]
  • 2016 – Purple Smile[11]
  • 2015 – Tanby[12]
  • 2014 – Outback Joe[13]
  • 2013 – Norsqui[14]
  • 2012 – Rialya[15]
  • 2011 – Muir[16]
  • 2010 – Capecover[17]

Location of the Adelaide Cup
As the home of the Adelaide Cup, Morphettville Racecourse is considered the premier horse-racing track for all of Southern Australia. It is located in the suburb of Morphettville just a 5km hop outside Adelaide, Australia city center. The racecourse is currently sponsored by Mount Gambier transport tycoon Allan Scott, hence it’s other name, the Allan Scott Park.