Facts about The Sydney Cup Group 1 Horserace
Dating back to 1862 when Talleyrand won the Sydney Cup horserace, the Sydney Cup is one of Australia’s oldest Group 1 thoroughbred horseraces. It is run over 3200 meters, the same distance as the Melbourne Cup.

However, the prize money is under $1 million and in in 2008 was AUD$728,360. The Sydney Cup Horserace is a favorite of Sydney-siders who have since the roaring 1920‘s each year flocked to Royal Randwick.

Here are some Sydney Cup race enthusiasts in 1922! You can view more photo’s at http://www.flickr.com/photos/statelibraryofnsw/2967590211/

Recent Winners of The Sydney Cup Group 1 Horserace
In 2009, Ista Kareem won The Sydney Cup horserace. In 2008, No Wine No Song won The Sydney Cup.

ANZAC Day and The Schweppes Sydney Cup, April 25
The Sydney Cup is run in late April, early May which often falls on ANZAC Day, the 25th of April. Whilst the ladies fashion at the Sydney Cup, is spectacular, it is a time to commemorate the fallen Australian and New Zealand serviceman is gave their life for their country.

The Schweppes Sydney Cup Day – April 25
Cadbury Schweppes Australia Ltd, manufacturers and distributors of soft drinks are sponsors of The Sydney Cup. For more information on Schweppes, visit their website.

Video of The Sydney Cup Horserace
Click on the below YouTube video of 2018 Sydney Cup Group 1 horserace.